4 Books Like Mine

Reverse books

Comparable Books to It's Over or It's Eden

You can learn more about It’s Over or It’s Eden on my Stories Page, but if you’re trying to decide if my science fiction novel is for you (or if you liked it and you’re looking for more), check out these titles. 

I choose two of the novels because they’re first contact stories—books about humans meeting aliens for the first time. The other two I choose because they’re speculative novels that analyze gender and social norms.

All four books are strong comparable titles for It’s Over or It’s Eden and are amazing reads in their own right.

The Lesson Book Cover

The Lesson

by Cadwell Turnbull

For five years the people of the US Virgin Islands have lived with the Ynaa, a race of superadvanced aliens on a research mission they will not fully disclose…A year after the death of a young boy at the hands of an Ynaa, three families find themselves at the center of the inevitable conflict, witnesses and victims to events that will touch everyone and teach a terrible lesson.

How it’s similar: A first-contact novel set on Earth with aliens here to stay.

Get it on Bookshop.com

Cover of The Power

The Power

by Naomi Alderman

All over the world women and girls are discovering they have the power. With a flick of the fingers they can inflict terrible pain, and even death. And with this small twist of nature, everything changes drastically. 

How it’s similar: A fast-paced adventure that tips assumptions about gender on its head, putting global control into question.

Get it on Bookshop.com

Axiom's End cover

Axiom’s End

by Lindsay Ellis

A well-timed leak has revealed that the US government might have engaged in first contact. Cora Sabino is doing everything she can to avoid the whole mess, since the force driving the controversy is her whistleblower father…The alien presence has been completely uncommunicative until she convinces one of them that she can act as their interpreter, becoming the first and only human vessel of communication.

How it’s similar: A first contact novel dealing in truth and high stakes.

Get it on Bookshop.com

Future Home of the Living God

by Louise Erdrich

Science cannot stop the world from running backwards, as woman after woman gives birth to infants that appear to be primitive species of humans. Twenty-six-year-old Cedar Hawk Songmaker, adopted daughter of a pair of big-hearted, open-minded Minneapolis liberals, is… four months pregnant…It will take all Cedar has to avoid the prying eyes of potential informants and keep her baby safe.

How it’s similar: An end of the world story that goes far beyond the initial days of panic and looks deeply into the choices we make as a society.

Get it on Bookshop.com

Picture of I'm Rebecca Zornow

I'm Rebecca Zornow

A science fiction author living in Wisconsin, I love traveling, eating good food, and reading long books.

About

Find me on:

More Posts

Old sketch of large house and grounds with red car out front

The Nebulas

The Nebulas. Where else can you find a room full of NASA scientists, magazine editors, Hugo Award winning writers, virtual reality game developers, and people who

How to Be Creative

This month, I broke up a séance. I walked into a basement room where 20 people had gathered and demanded to know what they were doing.

$25 Million

Could we give the trees $25 million dollars? I recently saw Potawatomi botanist and author Robin Wall Kimmerer speak at University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh. Her book, Braiding

Weekly Artist Dates

For years I had heard about The Artist’s Way. It was this magic book that would help artists produce better, do more, and feel like

A sketch of a woman reading in a chair with a realistic clock off to the side

My Ten Year Theory

Though I write about aliens, I’m not one for conspiracy theories. But…I have completed thorough research and careful observation to build one specific theory. The project

Send me a message