4 Books like DANGEROUS TO HEAL

turtle with stars

4 Books like Dangerous to Heal

I first started writing Dangerous to Heal in 2013. I wasn’t yet calling myself a writer. I didn’t know if anyone would ever see those scenes. But it was a story idea that wouldn’t go away.

Dangerous to Heal is a space opera about displaced peoples and I’m excited to share more of its universe soon.

It took me ten years to bring this book to life. Here’s four books that inspired me along the way.

the vanished birds cover

The Vanished Birds
By Simon Jimenez

Earth has died and humanity takes to the stars. When chance brings a silent boy to a space transporter who travels through decades in mere months, hungry powers stir. Soon the boy and woman are on the run but, in a seemingly endless universe, there are such few places to hide from the architects of this new humanity.

How it’s similar: Found family and dreaded corporations.

Get it on Bookshop.com.

winter's orbit cover

Winter's Orbit
By Everina Maxwell

The fate of a space empire rests upon the arranged marriage of a Prince and his dead husband’s cousin. Unfortunately, the former husband’s death may not have been an accident. But at least the duo can prevent an interplanetary war…if they can learn to trust each other.

How it’s similar: Romance with a political backdrop.

Get it on Bookshop.com.

gideon the ninth book cover

Gideon The Ninth
By Tamsyn Muir

Gideon wants off the ninth planet so she can finally get away from those skeletons. But Harrowhark Nonagesimus, Reverend Daughter of the Ninth House and bone witch extraordinaire, has been summoned by the Emperor and needs Gideon as a body guard. If only they can stop fighting long enough to see the real threat coming.

How it’s similar: Quirky science fantasy goes on a road trip.

Get it on Bookshop.com.

saga graphic novel cover

SAGA
By Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples

In a universe where a sci-fi world is at war with its fantasy moon, everyone must choose a side. When opposing soldiers Alana and Marko run away together and have a child, the propaganda of a generations-long war is suddenly at risk. The governments of both sides want Alana and Marko dead. Enter mercenaries, monsters, and a babysitter ghost.

How it’s similar: The flawed political system of a universe comes to rest upon one family.

Get it on Bookshop.com.

I'm Rebecca Zornow

I'm Rebecca Zornow

A science fiction author living in Wisconsin, I love traveling, eating good food, and reading long books.

About

Find me on:

More Posts

Two larger birds reading over the shoulder of a tiny woman

My Top 3 Books in 2022

Books I Loved in 2022 I’ve always read copiously, but 2022 was a different kind of year for me. I probably read more than ever,

How I Title My Books

I recently got a slew of new reviews for It’s Over or It’s Eden on Amazon and Goodreads. As a reader, I find reviews incredibly helpful

Ippa’s Paper

Bonus material for Dangerous to Heal. Ippa sends her galactic anthropology paper to Bel for editing.

Dangerous to Heal BOOK GROUP GUIDE

Book Group Guide for Dangerous to Heal Human trafficking, lost love, prejudice, alien cultures, an elite galactic university…there’s so many interesting discussions to be had

Send me a message