4 Books like DANGEROUS TO HEAL

turtle with stars

4 Books like Dangerous to Heal

I first started writing Dangerous to Heal in 2013. I wasn’t yet calling myself a writer. I didn’t know if anyone would ever see those scenes. But it was a story idea that wouldn’t go away.

Dangerous to Heal is a space opera about displaced peoples and I’m excited to share more of its universe soon.

It took me ten years to bring this book to life. Here’s four books that inspired me along the way.

the vanished birds cover

The Vanished Birds
By Simon Jimenez

Earth has died and humanity takes to the stars. When chance brings a silent boy to a space transporter who travels through decades in mere months, hungry powers stir. Soon the boy and woman are on the run but, in a seemingly endless universe, there are such few places to hide from the architects of this new humanity.

How it’s similar: Found family and dreaded corporations.

Get it on Bookshop.com.

winter's orbit cover

Winter's Orbit
By Everina Maxwell

The fate of a space empire rests upon the arranged marriage of a Prince and his dead husband’s cousin. Unfortunately, the former husband’s death may not have been an accident. But at least the duo can prevent an interplanetary war…if they can learn to trust each other.

How it’s similar: Romance with a political backdrop.

Get it on Bookshop.com.

gideon the ninth book cover

Gideon The Ninth
By Tamsyn Muir

Gideon wants off the ninth planet so she can finally get away from those skeletons. But Harrowhark Nonagesimus, Reverend Daughter of the Ninth House and bone witch extraordinaire, has been summoned by the Emperor and needs Gideon as a body guard. If only they can stop fighting long enough to see the real threat coming.

How it’s similar: Quirky science fantasy goes on a road trip.

Get it on Bookshop.com.

saga graphic novel cover

SAGA
By Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples

In a universe where a sci-fi world is at war with its fantasy moon, everyone must choose a side. When opposing soldiers Alana and Marko run away together and have a child, the propaganda of a generations-long war is suddenly at risk. The governments of both sides want Alana and Marko dead. Enter mercenaries, monsters, and a babysitter ghost.

How it’s similar: The flawed political system of a universe comes to rest upon one family.

Get it on Bookshop.com.

Picture of I'm Rebecca Zornow

I'm Rebecca Zornow

A science fiction author living in Wisconsin, I love traveling, eating good food, and reading long books.

About

Find me on:

More Posts

How to Be Creative

This month, I broke up a séance. I walked into a basement room where 20 people had gathered and demanded to know what they were doing.

$25 Million

Could we give the trees $25 million dollars? I recently saw Potawatomi botanist and author Robin Wall Kimmerer speak at University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh. Her book, Braiding

Weekly Artist Dates

For years I had heard about The Artist’s Way. It was this magic book that would help artists produce better, do more, and feel like

A sketch of a woman reading in a chair with a realistic clock off to the side

My Ten Year Theory

Though I write about aliens, I’m not one for conspiracy theories. But…I have completed thorough research and careful observation to build one specific theory. The project

10,000 Years into the Future

To think about the future, first, consider the past. 10,000 years ago, an ice age was ending. As the ice sheets receded, they revealed giant glacier-carved

Send me a message